MUIDERSLOT

This is Muiderslot one of the 22 castles (including non-operating castles and ruins)  in the Netherlands, in the province of Utrecht (in the middle of the country). Some of you have seen this castle on my deleted blog of blogspot.com before.

Two rivers came together at this location, and since Holland was a country in the 16th century that had more water ways than land, one could not pass this castle without paying taxes.  At one time a famous  Dutch poet, P.C. Hooft lived there and had often other artists, writers, and musicians visiting him.

 

 

*

 

CastlewindowsShorter_0676

 

*

Can you see the princess in the tower waiting to be rescued?
Muiderslot means the slot (castle) of the town Muiden

 

Now someone needs to rescue me from this whole escrow thing and get us into our new house. because this waiting without able to do art is driving me nuts, and it’s kind of expensive to be on the Ipad being without wifi … which prevents me my regular visits to you, my bloggie friends!

=

 

 

 

*

Child16thcentwberries_0690

*

Added the pillar next to it to give an idea about the size of this painting of this child with cherries.
Am glad children in this time don’t have to be miniature adults.

Several school groups with children were visiting. The tour guides included questions for the kids – a nice way to learn history! The tours were in English.

*

 

BabybedCrop

*

A baby bed, undoubtedly of a rich family
(believe me the paintings on the sides of the bed are real!
In that time they didn’t have copy machines yet)
The pink blanket –  they probably could not make prints like that then

*

*

*

SmallFlowers032

*

A sunny moment in my brother’s yard

*

*

Muiderslot2PotonFire

*

put the big (!) kettle on

*

*

Muiderslotreflect_0669

*

The reflections are a little hard to see. On this very rainy day there’s a puddle on the right bottom side. And in the middle of the pic near the bottom you see the half circle on the wall, reflected in the moat

Today, I realized that the red you see, is the gate of the castle – linking on Good Fences:)

*

 

 

 

 

 

 

ModMuiderslotreflect_0669

Modified for Mandarin Orange and Orange TGIF

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CastlegardenKidsDown_0697

 

 

 

 

*

They planted herbs, plants and flowers that were available in the 16th century.
Sorry, jetlag and a sudden 40 degree difference is not the best frame of mind to take pics of details.

 

 

*

 Thanks to All the hosts

Blue Monday  Travel Photo  Mandarin Orange  * Whim. Windows & Doors  *
Our World  Blo-ma  Nature Notes  *
ABC-Wed.-F  *  Outdoor Wednesday  Water World  *
Thurs. Little Things  Share the Joy  Alphabe– N * Up Down View  *
Floral Friday Foto  Sky Watch  Weekend Reflection  * Fri. Photo Journal  *

http://run-a-roundranch.blogspot.com  *
http://www.writingsofmaria.com (Orange TGIF)*  Todays flowers  Pink Saturday  Maleviks Garden  *

 

 

37 thoughts on “MUIDERSLOT

  1. It really is a great place to be! I go there a few times a year. Did you know the plum trees in the yard are from the original tribe, dating back to the 16th century?

    Like

  2. really glad I was able to drop by for this post – such a cool castle. Loved the baby bed (art) the most – and that tea kettle. and thanks for noting the reflections in the one photo – fun to find.
    hope you are having a nice month of August – and now I am off to read your Chagall post – 🙂

    Like

  3. It’s a goal of mine to visit a castle someday! I’ve never been to Europe, but I would love to spend extended travel there someday.

    Like

  4. A lovely castle that, under other circumstances, I would not have had a chance to see.
    I commiserate with you about the lack of your own painting space – very frustrating indeed, I well know the feeling we lost our house and my studio in a bushfire long, long ago and have lost part of myself with that as well.

    Like

  5. Reflexions are hard to see, but the castle is worth the detour !!! I hope the princess stopped hope for rescue from a prince : nowaday, it is much more cooler to phone to the firemen… (They are so cute in their uniforms ^^)

    Like

  6. I had no idea that the Netherlands had so many castles. Really nice photos and thanks for the interesting narrative. I love photo tours!

    Like

  7. The castle is so majestic, and your modified castle is great, so exciting and photogenic. The fireplace has such a pretty green screen. Happy Blue Monday!

    Like

Leave comment here. I welcome them:) Will get back to you eventually:)If you comment from Google +, or circles, I may not be able to reply, unless your blog url is listed. The same for commenting from Facebook - Thanks!