The IRIS of Inspiration

My inspiration for a series of fifteen paintings of 24 x 24 and 24 x 30 inches  came in an odd way.
We inherited several rose bushes from the previous owner. Also  Wisteria, Hydrangea bushes, and a Camellia tree.

We lived there for about a decade till one time I had a pink rose on my table in the living room. It wilted, and turned a  very pale silky pink and stayed in that state for about 3 weeks.

That turned out to be the first painting. and this one was I believe the 4th. I finished  it in two days, as most of my flower paintings. All throughout those months people gave me flowers, hubby found flowers on his work sites, etc. etc. It was … weird!  Of the fifteen, I did buy two: the Irises and the Calla lilies.

*

irises 4 067

*

Am in love with the stark purplish blue. So mysterious.
They are to me reminiscent of a deep blue starry sky. I never tire of it.
Even though in general I like light and bright more than dark colors.

*

*

iris2printOil, 24 x 24 , © St Germain
(about your screen: this is a square canvas:) )

*

My approach with the blue iris comes closest to my use of color in all my oil paintings.
Many hard lines and feathery strokes. I mostly make he background part of the painting. One color going over into another.
Leaving out irrelevant details. To me, a painting is not a copy  nor an embellishment. Photography is an art in itself!

Gave this flower  the personality of a regal warrior with a sword.
I purposefully de-romanticize the appearance the flowers, because society is over-sexed as it is.
By the way, I do not believe Georgia O’Keefe had sexual organs in mind with her flowers. She painted skulls for goodness sake!
In my approach to the subject, realism is not my goal, but for my own interpretation I may exaggerate , minimize certain forms or deconstruct, if need be.

If you have a question about why and how of any of my paintings, please don’t hesitate to ask – there are no dumb questions:):)

*

ItalRestaurant_1318

*

For me, the warrior theme has associations with iron works.
You see the reflection of the arm rest on the seat?
Really loved our time (and food) here, because it had the ambiance of  Mediterranean life.

*

*

RestaurSign_4324

*

Of course you like to know which restaurant in Santa Barbara this is…
which brings me to its sign

If you wonder why this post is written like this,
I travel here from one association to another.
In therapy I used this often with my clients
as a natural way for the mind to travel
and take the invasiveness out of penetrating questions.

*

parkinglot lake

*

Ending on a different note, but still n the spirit of  tall images, I hope in a way
that we’ll have floods in parking lots like this one a few years ago.
We’re supposed to have 5 inches of rain this weekend,  which we desperately need.
Right now there’s such a drought in California that we are on water rationing in the winter!
Who has even heard about such a thing!

*

Rain, rain, rain
don’t stay away for another day!

Update Friday 2/28 – the news reports that people in Monrovia (close to Pasadena, CA are mandatory evacuated because the rain water is coming down the mountains and the since the soil has loosened, there’s a great chance of floods.

*

Thanks to the hosts
Blue Monday  *   Travelphoto  *
Our World  * Nature Notes  Blo-Ma  *
ABC- G * Water World  Outdoor Wednesday  *
Share the Joy  Alphabe– O  * Up Down View  *
Sky Watch  Floral Friday Foto  *  Weekend reflection *
Todays Flowers *Maleviks Garden  *  Sunday in my City  *

39 thoughts on “The IRIS of Inspiration

  1. Hello Jesh,

    I agree with you; that Iris color of purple/blue is mysterious. Thanks for sharing.

    I just read your comment, so as soon as I finish leaving you this comment, I’ll put your photo in. I hope I choose the right one.

    Happy Blue Monday!

    Like

  2. nice art!! and the iron table and chairs is truly a masterpiece – and I like how the curl of the arm is reflected on chair base…. great series of pics for this post. 🙂 ~y.

    Like

  3. Your reflection of the day is very beautiful, and I see you have quite some pool as puddle goes in your area… But I’m also very fond of the iris pic and painting : I find it very delicate, and so finely captured.

    Like

  4. Your painting is really wonderful!
    About rain, we had the most rainy january since official meteo was created, and february too ..
    Lovely reflection, ,very poetic !
    Have a nice week-end !

    Like

  5. I love the light in your iris painting. And I adore the iron chairs with their reflection – thanks for linking them to the Up Down Challenge. debbie

    Like

    1. Thanks for visiting! Sorry you got confused. The first pic is the bouguet of flowers I got for the painting (second pic). I put a photo filter (photo shop) on first pic -because my photo skills are sometimes lacking, lol!

      Like

Leave comment here. I welcome them:) Will get back to you eventually:)If you comment from Google +, or circles, I may not be able to reply, unless your blog url is listed. The same for commenting from Facebook - Thanks!

