COLD – COLDER – COLDEST

When I landed  in Holland last May to do three art shows and workshops in three places, everyone there was still walking around with winter sweaters, coats and boots  (while we were packing our suitcases the day before in shorts and sandals)!
Since then I have been  more aware of temps at  other places on the globe than my own. Looking at the snowy pics from blogland USA, it looks like this year’s winter is “colder”  for everyone.

My current header

*

*

Winterheader20 215Pinecones by the Sequoia Trees in Yosemite Nat. Park, CA

*

For my walk on the abandoned beach
on a chilly day …

*

*

january08BigBearLake 545

*

or for snow when it’s not too deep.
Most winters we do have snow in California…
at 9000 feet

*

*

JacJean2CleanSnow 

*

*
Sometimes we like to get a taste of winter in Big Bear City and Lake, 2 1/2 hrs. away from our house.
A nostalgic pic from the non-digital era ( in Big Bear Lake though)
when the Michelin coats were in fashion:) and we ‘re ELATED about the snow!

*

*

Wintersky

*

This sunset is from two weeks ago in Southern CA, closer to the ocean.

*

temps dropped to mid 40ties at night like no other year  (as far as I can remember)
in Southern CA, and mid 30ties in the middle of the state

*

*

Boots_1570

*

*

As if I knew, I bought these boots from a well known brand (which has to do with painting, hint, hint) on Main Street – on a whim – on Thanksgiving weekend.  I figured  since leggings and even jeans today hug the ankle, boots have become more of a visible fashion item.
I choose and like these, because the faux fur is on the sides but not on the sole inside, and has a zipper to slide one’s foot more easily into the boot.

*

*

Hibiscuswindow_1572

*

Still though, California is seldom out of flowers!
Took this pic of the Hibiscus by my window, Feb. 5th

*

Have you ever done anything – on a whim – and it proved to be the exact (right) thing?

*

*

Thanks to All the Hosts

Blue Monday  Travelphoto Mon  *
Our World  * Blo-Ma  Nature Notes  *
ABC– E  * Waterworld Wed.  * Outdoor Wednesday  *  Alphabe – M  *
Favorite Things  Share the Joy  * Up Down View  *
Sky Watch  Floral Friday Foto  Todays Flowers  *
 * Weekend Reflections  * Best Post of the Week  *
Pink Saturday  Maleviks Garden  *
Sunday in my City  *

53 thoughts on “COLD – COLDER – COLDEST

  1. We have had a rather mild winter so far on the front range of Colorado, although we did experience a few “arctic blast” of below 0 weather. After a dry and rainless summer and fall, the winter snow moisture we’ve been getting in the high country has been a blessing. Your boots are very pretty!

    Like

  2. I have a visitor arriving from NL this week. Hope the weather doesn’t interfere! I love those boots! My feet are always cold and I’m constantly looking for something warm and comfortable!

    Like

  3. great series of pictures – love the boots and the couple shot the most – and not fair that you have Hibiscus in February!!! 🙂

    and to answer your question…. yeah, I took a trip on a whim about two years ago. Planned it in six days and flew to an old city where we used to live in – hooked up with a couple of friend and spoke at an event -and it was totally the “right” thing.

    oh yeah, and love the Michelin coat too. 🙂

    Like

  4. Sometimes I do something on a whim, but it turns out to be a mistake!
    Have a great week. And remember cold is not nice, but the burning heat is far worse. It was 36 to 45 degrees in Australia in January. The only thing we could do was sit in a pool of cold water.

    Like

  5. My those boots do look cosy. How wonderful to have hibiscus in winter, well actually any time of year. As Gerald said Its been an unusually warm winter here with endless Atlantic storms so if I’m going anywhere on a whim it would definitely be somewhere hot and dry.

    Like

  6. It really is amazing how we in this world were disposed to varieties of environment. But there are some who chose change, like my college friend who migrated to Alberta, Canada. When their temps are at the lows of -30°Cs as in -37C, they come here. This time it is our lowest at 19C before sunrise, so at least they have a semblance of cold. It now suddenly gets 24C and good they are leaving for their acclimatized bodies need the negatives!

    Like

  7. It’s been cold all over this year. I’ve always found it difficult to imagine it being real cold somewhere else when it’s warm most of the time here. That always makes it difficult to pack, but this year we’ve even had a cold winter. I enjoyed your beautiful photographs.

    Like

  8. tnx for your kind words on my blog,^0^
    oh how i wish it’s snowing from where I live,
    the last time I saw a chunk of ice was from my euro trip.
    your fotos are wonderful,
    and the sunset shot was just inspiring.

    ps: love that whimsy boots you’re wearing., esp. those fur details. ^-^

    Like

  9. I tend to do many things on a whim like eat three yogurts or four chocolate bars sadly they are not good decisions .
    however I made a whim decision in 1984 and we were married and together for 25 years sadly he acted on a number of whims that were not so good now we are divorced

    Like

  10. Waaaaaaa! I miss my boots SOOOOO much! The issues with my poor feet have gotten worse and they are even more deformed! I had to give away my boots, because looking at them made me sad! Your photos are great!!!!! Stay warm!!

    Like

  11. We didn’t get a snowy winter this year and the weather is going to be sunny… However I love the pure snow in landscape…Your boots would be great for such condition…
    Your photos are fabulous mainly the colourful sunset …

    Like

  12. Oh Jesh..I did not get this linked into Nature Notes and I already erased all the photos I collect for the collage but I will add you in at the top of the post. I would re-do it all, but my hands are not cooperating this week due to my MS.. I am so sorry….Michelle

    Like

Leave comment here. I welcome them:) Will get back to you eventually:)If you comment from Google +, or circles, I may not be able to reply, unless your blog url is listed. The same for commenting from Facebook - Thanks!

