SHORT ESCAPE INTO SPRING

Enough winter for me. Am ready for Spring! Since it still will take a few months, I’ll escape for some moments from reality and daydream of last Spring’s adventures in Lucca.

*

*

ReflectPuddles_1828

Opening the door
a warm wind blew in
the sun gently brushed against my cheek

The puddles reflecting the sky
gentle reminders
of the endless torrents of rain
I heard pelting my roof
yesterday night

Soon the mud in the alley would harden
enough to ride my bike

*

ReflectOrangePuddles_1828

Modified for Mandarin Orange with colored pencil feature of PS, balance,
smudgestick, saturation, and filled in by hand with a light and dark checker pattern

*

ToweLucca_1838

*

the tower in the distance
reassured me
all is well
could sit on the bench in the sun
or hide in the shade of the  surrounding trees.

*

weedsLucca_1834

*

wildflowers and weeds
popping up in the fields to my  heart’s content
sing a song of hope and merriment
as I walk to the inside
of Lucca.
*

*

Random Notes

Last year June, we were for a week in Lucca, Tuscany. Considering myself an artist,
I  smiled when I realized that Lucca
is a form of Luke, considered to be the patron saint of the artists (painters).

Not to mention that our honeymoon was in Malaga, Spain, the birthplace of Picasso.
I became aware of these two coincidental events after we had been there.

Is anything coincidental or do things happen for a reason?
Me thinks probably either way part of the time, but it’s easier for me to recognize the destiny in the events
as well as in the journeys we take.

*

Thanks to All the Hosts!
Blue Monday  Mandarin Monday  *  Travel Photo *
Our World  Blo-Ma  Nature Notes  *
ABC – A  *  Outdoor Wednesday  Water Wednesday  *
Favorite Things  * Share the Joy  *
Sky Watch  Floral Friday Foto  Todays Flowers  *
Weekend Reflection  *
Pink Saturday  * Maleviks Garden  *
Sunday in My City  *

43 thoughts on “SHORT ESCAPE INTO SPRING

  1. Oh how beautiful. I might actually get to Tuscany in the next year. I am so excited! We are planning our 30th Anniversary (next year,) but we will likely wait til our son is in college the following fall then the house will be empty and no one at home to worry about.

    Like

  2. Oh yes, I know the feeling! I was in Tuscany three years ago and north of Rome last summer and a photo like your first bring back so many lovely memories.
    I scrolled a few posts down and found out that you have a very cosy and poetic blog!

    Like

  3. After lots of frozen pipes and and dead pressure tank, your springlike post was a boost to the old morale. These are such pretty shots of which the tower one has to be my favorite. What a gorgeous place to visit.

    Like

  4. That photo with the church tower looks like it is here in a tropical country. While you are still deep in your winter, you should come over with us and be a little carefree and warmer!

    Like

  5. Hi! Your pictures are very beautiful. Modified one for Mandarin Orange is very cool too. There are many fine days in winter in Tokyo. Wishing you a wonderful weekend.

    Like

  6. I like the coincidence of names:) I also love your images…especially your processing of the building for MoM. Thanks for sharing on Mandrin Orange Monday 76:)

    Like

  7. Lovely pictures and I love the first poem. I could visualise that so clearly. I don’t believe anything in this Universe is random.Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

Leave comment here. I welcome them:) Will get back to you eventually:)If you comment from Google +, or circles, I may not be able to reply, unless your blog url is listed. The same for commenting from Facebook - Thanks!

