PARADISE OR NOT – It’s Where I Live

Yesterday when we drove home at night an icy wind dipped temps to 38 degr. F.
That may not be news in a Northern state at this time of year, but mind you,
this is along the coast in Southern California.

*

Flowerpath_0498

where flowers bloom throughout the year

*

*

Fountain_0563

big fountain at the Huntington

*

Never thought much about how spoiled we are, but now the decades keep adding onto my life
I feel  for hubby who would have to work with that icy wind blowing
while working 18 feet high on a ladder for a roof he’s working on.
Yeah, people in California DO work too, lol.
But what you see when you VISIT you see Disneyland, Sea World, Huntington Library Gardens
– by the way – the last is worth every penny of it.

*

*

cactus flowers0451

Cactus flowers in Huntington Library Gardens

*

*

cactusflowersMod0451

Modified for Mandarin Orange

*

*

We have good (not always warm) weather most of the time and it’s
important to me.  Even though when my sister in law’s commented to my brother
– who both live in the Netherlands -,
“I know now why they ( my family) never go on vacation.  It’s vacation every day here,”
made me laugh, because that would be far from the truth.

*

EaselLightPastels

hubby built this easel from scratch (am very proud of him!), so I could have 8 foot
paintings on it. You can’t see the top of this easel here

*

It’s an interesting question what “work” is and what “vacation” is.
I see my painting as work, and definitely not as play
even though my job in psychology pays much better than my paintings.
Am just fortunate I’m able to spend time to do both.

May seem some very random thoughts, but this paragraph has to do with
“where I live” mentally and emotionally.

*

*

SkyonFreeway9912

*

Back to California:
Thank the heavens that the sun came out and the  icy wind is gone
when I woke up this morning. It warmed up to 65-68 degr.  today

For this life I put up with the freeways and noise of traffic,
which would be a torture for some of you reading this.

Life is a mixed bag, eh?
But like for all of you – it’s where I live!

*

*

A Thank you to All the hosts!

Blo-Ma  Nature Notes  *
ABC– V  *  Water World  Outdoor Wednesday *
Favorite Things  Alphabe – D *  Share the Joy  * Up Down View  *
Floral Friday Foto  Sky Watch  Todays Flowers  *
Weekend Reflection   Pink Saturday  Maleviks Garden  *
Sunday in my City  *
Blue Monday  *  Mandarin Orange  Travel Photo  *

43 thoughts on “PARADISE OR NOT – It’s Where I Live

  1. Hi Jesh!! I’ve not had a chance to explore California as yet, although done most of the states near to it. I did briefly cross over into it from Nevada to visit the Mojave National Preserve. It’s not the man-made places I want to see, it’s the natural ones…….Yosemite, Death Valley, etc. Wonderful photos. I love the first shot with the trail of purple blossom 🙂

    Like

  2. When I lived in LA, I used to spend a lot of time in Huntingdon Library Gardens – a very special place. (Is the wisteria still overhanging the Japanese bridge?!)

    Like

  3. I love this post… wish I had your talent for putting my thoughts into words so beautifully. We definitely make trade-offs for the privilege of spending our winters where my toes and bones stay warm, so I know what you mean about weather. And I understand the broader analogy as well. Life is a series of compromises and there are many gray areas. We are happy with our choices too! Almost always.

    Like

  4. Thanks for linking to my Up Down Challenge again this week. I love your shot of your very tall easel. I also like the down shot of those flowers in Huntington Library Gardens. Looks a relaxing place.

    Like

  5. I love your photos – a few years ago I was in So Ca during the winter (when it was below zero out here) and the weather people kept saying “bitter CA cold” – I think it was in the 40’s. It’s all relative! Thanks for stopping by and for your kind words….

    Like

  6. great easel (and painting)! I visited at the Huntington Gardens when I went a few years ago for a museum conference in LA. We had so much fun, looking under the microscopes and walking around. I wish I had all day there… Ah well, just have to return! {:-Deb

    Like

  7. My Mother would have loved that easel and the views. She spent hours with friends in the woods near here painting. I am surrounded by some of them as I type…made me smile….hope she is watching over me now…Michelle

    Like

  8. We’ve been having a fire in the fireplace everyday here in Camarillo (So Cal) since hubby isn’t much on turning on the central heat and it’s been truly chilly! I adore your shot of the cactus flower. And I really enjoy your theme.

    Like

  9. I totally agree, just like ours here whatever we have, that’s where we live. LOL. If i were to walk on that path i might not be able to because i hate to step on those lovely flowers….Lastly, i smiled at those plenty of links!

    Like

    1. I logged on via your link, but it seems my comment does not come through. Did you get it? A funny post about the bowls with the names. Touching ot not touching – that’s the question – a la Shakespeare:)

      Like

  10. Thank you for your great post today. Very interesting to read:)
    We got of foot of snow overnight and I can’t wait to put my snowshoes and go for a walk in the park.
    Greetings from Toronto, Canada.

    Like

  11. Hello Jesh,

    I know just what you mean. I live in Florida, and I love the weather, but I’m spoiled. Last night dipped into the 40s, but today is 70〫 .

    Happy Blue Monday!

    Like

  12. California is one of my favorite states! The cold arctic blast we all got is gone and our temperature was in the low 60’s today –it felt so good after being subzero last week. I’m sure it will warm up where you are and you’ll be back to normal soon! Happy Blue Monday!

    Like

  13. Yep, it’s been pretty cold out here (for us anyway). We’ve out in the Joshua Tree area for most of the past month and it’s been DARN cold there. 20’s and 30’s almost everyday. No snow though.
    Love your photos!

    Like

  14. Your world sounds like a delightful place… I wouldn’t dream of dealing with all the traffic and noise though but it seems like you have a nice escape with your paintings…

    The next time I go to CA Huntington Library Gardens will be my first destination!

    Darling post for the letter “D”!

    Thanks for linking.

    A++

    Like

Leave comment here. I welcome them:) Will get back to you eventually:)If you comment from Google +, or circles, I may not be able to reply, unless your blog url is listed. The same for commenting from Facebook - Thanks!

