DREAM A LITTLE DREAM

XmasTreeVioling027

*

I had a dream a few weeks ago
where I caught a view of numerous Christmas tree branches
swaying in my bright lighted room (like the wind was blowing).
The branches were loaded with beautifully wrapped gifts. Then I went to the living room.
It was not as light as in my room. I was looking for the Christmas tree.

*

*

DankNightMoon

*

Found only a bare Christmas tree. The night was dark. The moon so small.
Then I went back and forth to my room to put some of my Christmas decorations
in the living room tree. I had quite a time, going back and forth
to see where my gifts could fit in.

*

Kind of excited, because I never had a dream about Christmas.
Since part of my job as a therapist includes dream interpretation,
I am having some ideas,  but there are still some things to figure out.

*

*

XmasMallDisplay_9774

*

Many Christmas displays are kind of trinkety, but the lighted buildings
was a nice one for the children. You see Father Christmas/Santa Claus
on the left, inspecting a decoration in the tree?

*

*

CoffeeBeanshop

Oh, if I could have all the goodies in the world (but I would probably be sick tomorrow!)

*

ModCoffeBeanshop

Modified for Photo Art Friday

*

Ponsettia_9753

*

One of my favorite things to have in my house is the Ponsettia

*

Cranberry coffee Cake237

Cranberry Coffee Cake

In Europe (Netherlands in my case) coffee or tea alone is incomplete. It screams for a cookie, cake,
scone, or some type of dessert.
Since the holidays are filled with sweet things, I always look for ways to cut down on sugar, eggs and frosting or glaze.

This cake is very easy to make and is a delicious blend of sweet (but not too sweet) and the tartness of the cranberries.
Also a great add to a buffet with several kinds of desserts and cookies in December.

Read whole recipe till end, before putting ingredients into baking pan

Cream together 
1/4 cup softened butter with 1 cup sugar

Add   2 eggs
1 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon almond or vanilla extract

In separate bowl, mix
2 cups of flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
pinch of salt

Wash 1 1/2 cup fresh cranberries
Chop 1/2 cup walnuts
powdered sugar

Put half of batter in bottom of  round baking pan (with hole in middle). Cover with cranberries. Top with other half of batter.
Sprinkle walnuts. on top. If you like to turn the cake upside down (read below), you might want to put the walnuts on the bottom instead of the top.

Bake in preheated oven for 40 minutes on 350 degr. F .  Cake is done when fork in in middle comes out clean.
Cool for 10 min. before taking it out of the pan by placing a plate on top of the pan -holding both plate and baking pan with both hands and turning plate upside down, till plate is on bottom and baking pan is on top.
Gently tap on bottom of baking pan for cake to to loosen. Sprinkle some powdered sugar on top.

*

*

*

*

WHAT DO YOU DO TO GET IN THE MOOD?

*

Thanks to all the Hosts

Favorite Things   Alphabe – C  * Up Down View  *
Floral Friday Foto  Sky Watch  Todays Flowers  *
Weekend Reflection  * Photo Art Friday  *
Pink Saturday  Maleviksgarden  *
Sunday in my City*
Blue Monday  * Mandarin Orange  *  Travel Photo  *
Our World  Blo-Ma  *

39 thoughts on “DREAM A LITTLE DREAM

  1. Great post … last year I visited Amsterdam in December. That was very nice with all the Christmas decotation everywhere (just like my town, Drammen). To get in mood I just have to lit candles and fireplaces in my house. It gets very early dark in the afternoon and at this time of year it’s usually very cold, so I love to come home to a light and warm home 🙂

    Happy weekend!

    Groetjes Irene

    Like

  2. So you didn’t dream about “a white Christmas” as says the song, I am dreaming of a white Christmas ! I found the Christmas decoration in Amsterdam rather poor compared to other countries. My son and family live there. This Christmas they are coming to us in Brussels/Waterloo.
    My DIL is Dutch and loves sweet things, lol !

    Like

  3. Thank you for your comment on my blog. Eighteen months ago, I heard a program on the radio about winter blues. I recognized it and I was so happy with my daylight lamp! Your blog is a great mix of fun topics. I’m your new follower. And yes: lets dream our litlle dreams 🙂 Inderdaad: koffie zonder koek is niet compleet ❤

    Like

  4. your dream…I’d love to hear about your conclusion about it! I would love to visit the place where Father Christmas and his tree are residing. and the soda fountain is so charming! oh, my, would I love a slice of that cake, or a scone…either or both!

    Like

  5. Love the image you linked up with Photo Art Friday! Being a therapist myself, I find your dream interesting and beautifully positive – however, the specific interpretation always belongs to the dreamer. Thank you for sharing your many gifts with Photo Art Friday!

    Like

  6. Hi! Nice dream. I want to dream such a fantastic one too. All of your shots are very beautiful. I like to drink a cup of coffee with something to eat too. Wishing you a wonderful weekend.

    Like

  7. Dreams are odd things to read, we often only understand them 20 sears later. I am always grateful for dreams rather than nightmares.
    That cake sounds so nice, unfortunately we cannot get fresh cranberries here in the southern hemisphere.

    Like

  8. The tree is up, the lights are twinkling, the shopping centres are adorned with decoration so now it’s time to visit friends and enjoy some mulled wine and mince pies. Merry Christmas.

    Like

  9. I so enjoyed all of your Christmas photos, and wonder about your tree dream….that should be an interesting interpretation. My tree is up with lights, but no decorations yet. I’m still dreaming of how to decorate it this year. Thanks for the Cranberry Coffee Cake recipe. Makes me want to bake right away.
    Visiting from Alphabe-Thursday Letter C
    Sue CollectInTexas Gal

    Like

  10. I get my holiday spirit going by putting on some Christmas carols and decorating my house with the Santa Claus and snowmen collections I’ve gathered over the years…

    I also find a lot of Christmas cheer baking cookies for Santa… And I bet that cranberry cake is the perfect sweetness!

    Charming post for the letter “C”.

    Thanks for linking.

    A+

    Like

Leave comment here. I welcome them:) Will get back to you eventually:)If you comment from Google +, or circles, I may not be able to reply, unless your blog url is listed. The same for commenting from Facebook - Thanks!

