A LITTLE HOME GROWN

Even in my teen years I had lots of questions about life and how people live.
I read Freud and Jung when I was sixteen, because it was fun.
Not in mind to become a psychologist.

*

Dancing leaves_0087

*

My (later) years in psychology taught me that “being” and “doing”
need to be in balance.
Summer is definitely my “being” time, that focuses on art.
When leaves in Fall begin their dance, it’s a time of doing.

*

dancing leaves Orange_0087

Modified for Mandarin Orange
sprayed strokes -balance – posterize

*

Am not one who falls for every charity or cause. Not at all. When the following took place though,
I felt I had to do “something.”

My adventurous son had gone to China 7 years ago to teach English
in a Northern city (12 hrs. W. from Beijing). When winter came,
little glimpses told me it had to be very cold,
like “they’re doing internet cheap here.”

When I asked what that meant, he explained that you just leave the windows
open, also when it’s storming, raining, in weather of 15 deg. F.
Then there came that email, “I met a 7-year old orphan without legs
at the bus stop. I gave him the potato wrap I was eating.
At home, I haven’t cried so hard in a long time.”

*
The question came to me was what people living in the streets need in winter?

*

Hatstack2Grow_1116

*

My response was to knit my son and the orphan a hat.
My contribution as well as to show
that when you care about something, eventually a solution will come
Every year, except for two, knitting hats for the needy has been my Fall project.

*

Every time I wait for something, hubby drives, or watch TV,  I pick up where I left off.
Happy my stack or stash is growing quickly
End of this month I’ll send it to a friend in a Northern state (I trust)
to give it to people who live on the streets.

*

RosesPetalFalling0779

*

Am very far  from a Mother Teresa.
Still  have a decadent life style compared to the rest of the world
one who bemoans that now I only have these roses once in a while
on my table instead of every week.
Just so you know, am not miss goodie-two-shoes.

*

Thanks to All the hosts!

Weekend Reflection  Floral Friday Foto  *
Pink Saturday  Todays Flowers  * Maleviks Garden  *
Sunday Snapshot  *
Blue Monday  * Mandarin Orange  * Travel Photo *

*

35 thoughts on “A LITTLE HOME GROWN

  1. What a beautiful heartfelt post.
    I love the idea of creating something that is both useful and so needed but I’m afraid I can only knit in straight lines! It’s a great idea and as you say you can just pick up as and when you can fit it in.
    There are going to be some needy people feeling just a little bit warmer thanks to your generosity.
    It’s good to pass it on and you’ve given me food for thought 😀
    xoxo

    Like

    1. It is sad that in China the kids with special needs are made invisible and do not go to school:(
      But it’s also a story that we can be a ray of hope in someone’s life. Happy weekend:)

      Like

  2. We do live well even if we forget it sometimes… Nice of you to knit those things…very nice… I don’t have grandchildren yet… My daughter was busy getting her Ph .D in psychology to get married… I hope to be a grandma some day… Michelle

    Like

    1. Oh, you can fill me in on a few things how it is to have a daughter becoming a psychologist (my mother had a stroke after my 2nd year in grad school, which effected her speech, so she was not able to express her thoughts.) Be warned, most psychologists spend the first 10 years out of school in paying off their debt, and still need to live pretty frugal. Does she know it she wants to do therapy or research later? Anyways, you can be proud of her – a lot of the training is grueling!

      Like

    1. You probably know the expression “paying it forward” – well, this is more paying it backward, because there are so many people who helped me get through grad school – I never would have made it without them, and my kids would have needed counseling!

      Like

  3. Such a heartfelt post and a wonderful way to make a difference In the world. Thank you for sharing this story with us.

    Happy Blue Monday!

    Sheila

    Like

  4. First, I do like your photo. I think it is wonderful that you knit hats for the homeless. It gives me ideas of things that my friends and I can do. Thank you so much for sharing.

    Like

  5. My sister works for the homeless in England and she’s always saying how they need socks and underwear, so I’ve donated money for her to buy them for the needy.

    What a lovely post!

    Like

  6. There’s a lot of wisdom in your post. I am happy for you that you found something so very helpful and worthwhile to do for others. We don’t have to be Mother Teresa to do a kindness.

    Like

  7. Dearest Jesh
    No, I agree you are not Miss Goody Two Shoes, you are Miss Goody Seven Hats (and counting). How wonderful that you have found a way of doing something to contribute, I think a lot of us would like to do something but sometimes wonder what we should do. Hats off to you for finding a way.
    Wren x

    Like

  8. You may not be Miss Goody Two shoes….but you have a big heart. And a great eye for photography. I love the way you processed the pic for MoM – very decorative. Thanks for being part of Mandarin Orange Monday:) …and thank you for helping the homeless:)

    Like

Leave comment here. I welcome them:) Will get back to you eventually:)If you comment from Google +, or circles, I may not be able to reply, unless your blog url is listed. The same for commenting from Facebook - Thanks!

